Spen Valley Constituency - Campaigning news and information

The new Spen Valley constituency is made up of the following wards of Kirklees Council: Cleckheaton, Liversedge and Gomersal, Birstall and Birkenshaw, Heckmondwike, Mirfield, and the Kirkheaton village of Dalton ward.

The Spen Valley constituency name was first used in 1885, though with different boundaries from the one created this year by the Boundary Commission, 

The first MP was a LIberal - Joseph Woodhead. He was followed by Thomas Whittaker also a Liberal who served as MP until 1919. Then there was a gap when Labour MPs were elected until 1922 when Sir John Simon was elected.

The constituency was abolished in 1950.

Spen Valley Liberal Democrats aim to build on this constituency's Liberal history.


This website uses cookies

Like most websites, this site uses cookies. Some are required to make it work, while others are used for statistical or marketing purposes. If you choose not to allow cookies some features may not be available, such as content from other websites. Please read our Cookie Policy for more information.

Essential cookies enable basic functions and are necessary for the website to function properly.
Statistics cookies collect information anonymously. This information helps us to understand how our visitors use our website.
Marketing cookies are used by third parties or publishers to display personalized advertisements. They do this by tracking visitors across websites.